Posted by: shannonc | July 27, 2010

Tory and Blue

Tory’s OTTB Java has been feeling a little under the weather the last week and he’s resting.  Sooooo…I decided this was a good opportunity.  It’s very difficult to create what you need, IMO, if you don’t know what it feels like.  I never thought of my Blue as a schoolmaster when I was competing him (I created a schoolmaster?  You gotta be kidding me), but ohmygod, he LOVED this assignment.  He’s a teacher through and through.

I brought him to Tory’s lesson to surprise her.  She’d figured out she was going to be riding one of my horses…not sure if she would have been happier seeing Blue or Kisses in the trailer, but she took everything in stride and got on my horse to produce some pretty darn good work for her first time working dressage with him.

And Blue, having been in work for two weeks this year, and having lost a lot of muscle from his injury, was wonderful.  I’m so proud of my boy!

Some pix!  And video too.

Responses

  1. It was amazing to watch. He was bright eyed and attentive and she had a huge smile the whole ride with a smattering of “oh my gods” thrown in. What you might not have noticed was that I brought a bunch of the other students out to watch you warm him up. It was an excellent opportunity to say “look at this and that – that’s what I’ve been talking about.”

    Thanks so much for bringing him!! :)

  2. Ohhh… I hope I didn’t set any bad examples!

    The comment I liked the best from Tory was her “is that ME?” while reviewing the video. Now that is what I call a good ride!

  3. Sounds like you are enjoying your work and beginning to reap the benefits of all you put in to it. The pictures are wonderful and Kisses is certainly a handsome looking guy. Good luck in Maine.


Leave a Reply

Categories

