Posted by: shannonc | February 2, 2010

Mixed-up, Mashed-up day

More unassailable horseperson logic:  it’s a balmy 25 degrees – time to start riding the pony in strange saddles!  I feel like the US Postal Service (or maybe Barnum & Bailey)…I wonder if I will be able to find a square foot or two of ground out there not already claimed by sleet or snow or ice, so that I can start the show.

Quite appropos, don’t you think, that the motto typically attributed to our postal delivery workers originated as – what else? – a horse-related commentary (from Wikipedia):

a quote from Herodotus’ Histories (8.98), referring to the ancient courier service of the Persian Empire:

It is said that as many days as there are in the whole journey, so many are the men and horses that stand along the road, each horse and man at the interval of a day’s journey; and these are stayed neither by snow nor rain nor heat nor darkness from accomplishing their appointed course with all speed. (trans. A.D. Godley 1924)

 

I will tell you one thing:  in our current circumstances, we can forget the heat part.

Rumbles the truck is outfitted with new tires, new brakes, and slightly less prominent grease stains on her cloth seats.  Shannon is outfitted with three going on four and possibly five or six dressage saddle possibilities she can’t keep forever.  And also with two varieties of ear warmers:  one fleece allover hat cover, and one pair of velcro muffs that attach right to a helmet harness.  For whatever reason, I can feel cold out there, but when my ears start to freeze, I get really cranky, and game over.

Good news:  a spot in Joy’s clinic this weekend opened up, which I jumped on in a hurry.  Bad news:  I’ve been on the pony three times in the past six weeks – all since mid-Jan, so that’s good – and the level of work has been, well, low.  I haven’t gotten to an indoor yet.  My agenda for this lesson, though, is a combination of obedient walk work (this year, we start from the first ride teaching more respect for the leg) and musical saddles.  I think the pony’s quarter will last us that long.

On the down side, I’m worried about Blue.  He came in lame last night.  Short-strided, head-nodding lame at the walk.  Not hobbling, but definitely noticeable.  *Insert vent about how I so hate winter and my 5 acres of universally crappy turnout*  No difference weight bearing standing in his stall, no acute pain, no cuts, nothing in his hoof, no obvious inflammation.  But a little heat from his ankle stretching down to his LF hoof.  I’m guessing he torqued it on one of his front studs and twisted the ankle, but I’m worried about the possibility of any tendon involvement and have a call in to the vet.  It seems slightly better this morning without bute, and I put him out because he’s more likely to stand quietly in the paddock than in his stall during the day.  I hope to God I’m not causing anything aggravation.

It’ll have to be another no-indoor adventure day for the pony, because I’m not leaving Blue until I have to for work.  Hopefully will have talked to the vet by then…send good thoughts please if you have some to spare!

Leave a Reply

Categories

