Posted by: shannonc | January 21, 2010

Fantasy event season

Mini rant:  I had a much more clever title for this post, but WordPress auto-linked it via “possibly related posts” to a whole bunch of stuff that made no sense at all.  Grr.

(So I changed the title, and disabled the function, then reenabled it, and got the same result.  I give up!)

These – fantasy seasons, that is – are a tradition around here in the winter.  We don’t take them too seriously…but they do pluck us out of the frozen tundra momentarily and allow us to dream of fun and warmth!

Here’s what I have so far for the pony.  This is assuming we do go to Aiken:

  • March 13-14:  Full Gallop Farm HT – BN
  • April 24:  D show @ Stoneleigh, or April 25:  D show @ UNH
  • May 1-2:  UNH – BN
  • June 2-3:  Lucinda Green clinic at Ledyard
  • June 4-6:  GMHA – N move up?
  • Would really like to do GHF N in this next spot, but it will really depend on how much he’s “owning” things by the time I’d have to enter.  Mainly I’m concerned about the extraordinary busy-ness of everything there being just too much distraction for him.  If GHF is a no-go, we might consider Valinor, June 12-13.

At this point in the season I think we’d pause and reassess.  I think if we were on track for the N3D, that would be a complete blast.  It would be really tight to fit in 4 qualifiers, though, in the time we have.  And actually qualify at the qualifiers ;)

Blue’s schedule is going to be more amorphous but I plan on starting to jump him in the spring when he is strong enough and seeing how that goes, then maybe enter a N.  It would be fun to shoot him at the T3D in 2011.

Whee!

Responses

  1. You’re way ahead of me, I have no idea what I’m going to do for the Area I season. Part of it is, I need to have my on-call schedule before I can start planning that. I am going to be riding in the Pine Top HT 3/27-28 and I’ve already entered Ruby for a bunch of events down there (Alison will be riding her). I think she is going to be at the Full Gallop HT that you’re going to, but will hopefully be doing Novice with Alison there. Maybe you’ll see her!

  2. Well Ruby is getting a pretty good start – that’s big! When are you going down in March? I will definitely look for Alison at FGF and cheer for your pony – fun!

    By the end of all the work down south I bet you’ll have a pretty good idea of what you want to do (and hopefully you’ll have the schedule as well).

  3. I’ll be going down 3/20 or 3/21 (I haven’t decided which day yet) and will be coming back on 3/29. I know that Alison thinks that I’ll be ready to bump up to Novice at some point this year, I’m less sure about that, but one of my resolutions is to do what she says! Anyway, with all the work and competition Ruby will get in SC, at least she’ll be ready, even if I’m not.

    For the Area I season, I may want to try some of the HTs I didn’t do last year. Since I rode at UNH and KO, I should branch out to some others maybe.


Leave a Reply

Categories

