Posted by: shannonc | November 24, 2009

In gratitude

Some spouses can be like broken records.  I am one of them.  We moved into this house-with-a-barn in July 2007, fully intending to renovate – to start – the outdated, too-small kitchen, the four pink painted/pink wallpapered rooms, and all four bathrooms – two of which are pink, and two of which are black.  Not a white toilet in the place.

But, Money Pit-like, other things intervened.  First it was a crooked chimney.  Then, thousands of dollars of rot and replaced windows.  The house eroding right down the hill.  Foundation issues.  Lack of gutters.  In short, a whole lot of money spent to fix stuff that, as a woman and a princess at that, I can’t appreciate as much as I should be able to.  I mean – you don’t really see it.  A new master bath, I could enjoy every day, right?  But a straight chimney and some architecturally correct gutters?  Please.  Wake me up when it is time to renovate the kitchen.

Don’t get me wrong.  I paint.  I caulk and glaze (when forced to).  I pick furniture (of which there has been none so far, just dreams).  I pre-wash the dishes so they can go in the dishwasher – or “the sterilizer” as I prefer to think of it.  I dust crap left by the previous owners that I don’t like and I near-incessantly vacuum and wash floors we both hate. 

Someday, maybe 10 or 15 years from now, we’ll be ready for a housewarming party.  In the meantime, I am a broken record.  Every time there is a conversation about what has to come next, I meekly repeat, “kitchen?” 

And my husband smiles.  He fails to get irritated at my broken-recordness.  He explains the need to correct structural malfunctions as a priority (yeah, whatever).  He joins in my bath-and-kitchen slander to make me feel better.

This year has been one filled with loss for us – loss of family, jobs, security, predictability, trust.  But somehow when it matters, we step up to persevere.  We have been there for each other.  We keep trying.  I’m not sure where the reserves come from, but I believe they have their roots in love.

And this Thanksgiving, whatever else is in play, I am grateful for that. 

I will keep complaining about the kitchen, but knowing that it can wait.  Forever, if it comes to that.

Responses

  1. Nicely said! :)

  2. Aw =)

  3. That’s my persevering princess! I am thankful for you!

  4. Just catching up on things and my equine education making a little sense. Good luck and think Spring weather !!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

