Posted by: shannonc | August 16, 2009

I think I can, I think I can!

Competition report:  Coursebrook Farm Derby, August 16, 2009 –

2’3″ – 2’6″ division

No dressage today – not that we can’t use the practice! – but fairly close by, at a place the pony’s never seen before, a sj/xc show was being held, so I set off to take the pony’s temperature over some bigger jumps.  His personality and learning style respond super well to mileage – he really likes to have time to check things out whenever I ask a new question, so I want to give him the opportunity to do that before the Sept BN effort.  This particular show had a division with mixed fences 2’3″ – 2’6″, and I thought that was just perfect for what we’re trying to accomplish right now.

It’s been a very hot day.  As I write it’s 104 in the sun (which explains why I’m inside writing and saving my chores till later ;)).  Trying to be cognizant that the heat would make the pony’s work that much harder, I gave him a quick warmup – just a w/t/c around and the xrail, vertical and oxer one time.  He went very bold to the oxer so I figured that was a good place to stop.

little gallop in warmup

little gallop in warmup

The first class was a s/j warmup, so we rode the course we’d ride for the class itself, but not the jumpoff.  I had the chance to watch a bit and one fence was causing a lot of trouble:  it was a green rolltop off a hard turn going away from home and unfortunately it wasn’t one of the fences set to 2’3″.  The horses had to head right toward the spectators and a complex of xc jumps, then turn in front of it and take a short approach to the rolltop.  It looked like they were distracted going in, and the fence was looky.  I decided to take a wider line, around the xc jumps, for a longer approach.

We headed out to fence 1, red and white rails with bright red flower boxes underneath.  The pony goggled and stuttered and then went from a near standstill.  Then, in spite of the longer approach, he did stop at the rolltop.  He was barely done spooking at the xc jumps.  I kicked and he answered with a lovely sideways movement, so I gave him a little tap, turned away, reassured a little, tried the shorter approach and he went.

scary rolltop

scary rolltop

After a break we did our official round and he didn’t look hard at anything.  He got it!!  The in and out vertical to oxer at the end was 39 feet and I could not get a good spot in or out in either round – ended up with a poppy 3 strides both rounds – but that’s more a riding and luck problem than anything.  Thank goodness this isn’t the hunters.  I was really pleased at his progress from the warmup.  I even tried a somewhat difficult route in the jumpoff – I wasn’t going for time at all, but he landed with the correct lead on a hard downhill turn so I tried the short path and he was wonderful!  He ended up winning this class.  I think he had the only clear round.  It was a quiet show and a small group, maybe 6 or so in each of our classes.  Here’s the vid.

Next was the xc derby round.  When I walked, I confess my eyes sort of fell out.  This course had larger solid fences on it than I have ever pointed the pony at, including 4 shared with N that were no 2’3″, I’ll tell you that much.  I was thinking, here is where I appreciate the difference between Elementary and BN.  For me with this pony, it had the same feel as the big leap between T and P for Blue.  There just aren’t a lot of 2’3″ solid fences around to school – and then suddenly they are 2’7″.  Time to find out how the pony feels about that!

Here are the best photos I got to illustrate the difference:

the fence 2s L to R: Elem, BN/N, T/P

the fence 2s L to R: Elem, BN/N, T/P

Foreground: BN; background: Elementary...

Foreground: BN; background: Elementary...

the fence 4s

BN - left; Elem - right

 And here are a couple of the others:

Fence 1

Fence 1

Approaching the ditch

Approaching the ditch

 No xc warmup round was offered, so off we went.  The pony was really pretty wonderful.  He gave a little moment of suspension at fence 1 as if to say, “hmm?” – then jumped 2 and 3 nicely.  Fence 4 was mammoth compared to anything he’s jumped before.  He propped at it madly, saying “you can’t mean THAT?” and then actually jumped it from a standstill!  It was the biggest thing out there and I landed thinking there’s nothing that’ll teach you your pony can do the height like him jumping the largest thing on course from zero rpms.  LOL!  He then did a dance at the ditch which earned us some penalties.  I said to him (kicking madly), “you can do it!” and he did.  Then he was good to the big red table, and into the woods, and over a log in the woods with a super short approach, back out into the field to do the crappy in and out again, through the finish flags and he was done.  MANY pats for the pony, a nice hosing and coolout, a roll on his lead, and another ribbon – 2nd in the derby.

XC fence 1

XC fences 4-8

It’s nothing near smooth and easy – but it’s progress!  GOOD PONY!  I hope he had fun – I think he did!

Finding a little patch of shade to pat the pony and loosen his girth before heading back to the trailers

Finding a little patch of shade to pat the pony and loosen his girth before heading back to the trailers

Responses

  1. Marvelous! Sounds like everyone did well! We fought with the white-bordered ditch on Friday. …and the red table *was* big!

    Well done both of you! :)

  2. Fence #1 looked huge. Fence #2 looked small. Why didn’t they change them up?!?!
    Fence #7 (the reddish table?) looked pretty sizeable! The grey bench didn’t look as big
    as you made it sound, hehehehehehehehehehe….

    The stadium course video looked fantastic! A huge difference from the last time! And you’re
    right – the distance on that last combination must have been WONKY!!!!!!

    I don’t understand why there isn’t a GOOD level between weenie and beginner novice. This elementary course looked tiny!

    YAY Kisses & Shannon!!!!

  3. Hip Hip Hooray – Jolly Good, Kisses and Shannon!

  4. Thanks Mom! He was a good boy. Fences 1 and 2 were the same height, but the photography might make them seem otherwise. I’m amazed he took that red table from the angle I brought him at – extra good pony! The grey bench was max BN.

    Hopefully after I walk the T3D course next week I will gain a whole new appreciation for 2’7″!


Leave a Reply

Categories

