Posted by: shannonc | June 18, 2009

Oddly

This week hasn’t been the greatest for a variety of reasons and yesterday was particularly lousy.  For one thing, I haven’t been having very good rides on the pony – I can’t seem to get him to let go in his back, so when I put my leg on it feels like the energy is going into a black hole, and he just leans onto his shoulder and the bit.  Bad for dressage, bad for jumping.  I hate feeling like the only horse I have to ride is in front of the saddle, and I hate worse when I can’t seem to fix it. 

By the end of the day I was feeling pretty cranky with myself and if I’d had a choice I would have made some nice comfort food and curled up with a book, but I was scheduled to spend the evening at a jumper show helping to work with some school horses.  I’d been on the little mare I was supposed to ride once, walk-trot, and she’d never been to a show before.  I ordinarily like these kinds of experiences and puzzles, but I was in such a rut I would have gladly stayed home to sleep it off.  Work is work, though, and people were counting on me so off I went.  Hoping I wasn’t going to create a disaster, be fired, or achieve some other grand low fitting the trajectory of the day.

The last thing I wanted to do turned out to be the one thing I did that fixed me.  The little mare was a very good girl: calm, relaxed, listening, willing.  Green yes.  Difficult no.  Rhythmic and uphill, thank you, I needed a dose of that!  

At some point on the drive home it occurred to me that maybe not quite everything the pony does is my fault after all, that perhaps I should quit worrying and stressing so much and have a little confidence that I know how to ride a greenie, forget about how it looks when it’s not pretty, and just go out and do the best I can to get the job done.

In other words, get over it already.  Thanks little mare.

Responses

  1. Yes! Get over it already :) You always look good on a horse so stop giving yourself grief!

  2. :) what she said.


Leave a Reply

Categories

