Posted by: shannonc | June 11, 2009

Doomed

Things I have learned from my years in corporate and my years riding:  I’m not terribly ambitious, and I’m not terribly competitive with others.  What I am is hardworking and driven.  The boring stuff.  Very Capricorn.

And a little superstitious.  The kind that says, you know, a bad dress rehearsal is a good thing.  So what the heck am I going to do going into Hitching Post with a week of good rides on the pony?!

Okay, it was sweet when professionals started to suggest a little that maybe I should keep the pony.  These instructor types can be very sly.  Tuesday it was gee, your colors look really good on him, and hmmm…sure looks like he could be a nice Novice pony.  And no, no, you’re not too big, not even in the upper body…in fact anyone with less upper body probably would have trouble keeping him organized right now. 

Today it crossed the line.  Different instructor, and so many kind words.  Yeah, I worked hard and did my riding homework:  that’s what I do.  I’m not always successful, but I always try hard.  The pony, on the other hand, is supposed to be a pony.  You know.  Evasive.  Crafty.  Anything to avoid honest work.  So what kind of alien abduction is at hand when pony comes out and acts like…like we’re a… <gulp> team?  And gets comments about how hard he’s trying, and how much he wants to do what I ask, and what nice gaits are in there?

I’ll tell you one thing.  It doesn’t bode well for a competition this weekend!

Responses

  1. :D

  2. You gotta stop thinking this way, GF! I tell you, it *makes* bad things happen! Seriously!!!!! It’s all in the law of attraction. You know, The SECRET. hahahahha

    Seriously, you shouldn’t expect bad things to happen! Even if you DO get many multiple schools in a row where you’re grinning from ear to ear. Those are not due to luck, they are due to hardwork and skill and time!!!!

  3. Right on, Sarah! And, oh by the way…you get the superstitious stuff from me….it’s a genetic thing!


Leave a Reply

Categories

